

Office of the Secretary Washington, DC 20250

March 25, 2024

THE HONORABLE BILL LEE Governor State of Tennessee State Capitol Nashville, TN 37243

Dear Governor Lee:

In accordance with 7 CFR 759.5(a), I am designating 77 Tennessee counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

In accordance with Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loan assistance, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

THOMAS J. VILSACK Secretary

Enclosure

Disaster Designation Areas for Tennessee and Contiguous States Page $\boldsymbol{2}$

Primary Counties

Tennessee	(77)			
Anderson	Davidson	Henderson	Madison	Rutherford
Bedford	Decatur	Henry	Marion	Scott
Benton	DeKalb	Hickman	Marshall	Sequatchie
Bledsoe	Dickson	Houston	Maury	Sevier
Blount	Dyer	Humphreys	Meigs	Shelby
Bradley	Fayette	Jackson	Monroe	Smith
Campbell	Fentress	Jefferson	Moore	Tipton
Cannon	Franklin	Knox	Morgan	Union
Carroll	Gibson	Lauderdale	Overton	Van Buren
Cheatham	Giles	Lawrence	Perry	Warren
Chester	Grainger	Lewis	Pickett	Wayne
Claiborne	Grundy	Lincoln	Polk	Weakley
Clay	Hamilton	Loudon	Putnam	White
Coffee	Hardeman	McMinn	Rhea	Williamson
Crockett	Hardin	McNairy	Roane	Wilson
Cumberland	Haywood			

Contiguous Counties:

Tennessee	(12)		
Cocke	Hawkins	Montgomery	Stewart
Hamblen	Lake	Obion	Sumner
Hancock	Macon	Robertson	Trousdale

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Alabama Jacksonville	(4) Lauderdale	Limestone	Madison	
Arkansas Crittenden	(2) Mississippi			
Georgia Catoosa Dade	(6) Fannin	Walker Whitfield		
Kentucky Bell Calloway	Murray (10) Clinton Cumberland	Graves Hickman	McCreary Monroe	Wayne Whitley

Disaster Designation Areas for Tennessee and Contiguous States Page $\boldsymbol{3}$

Mississippi (6)

Alcorn De Soto Tippah Benton Marshall Tishomingo

Missouri (1)

Pemiscot

North Carolina (4)

Cherokee Graham Haywood Swain

Virginia (1)

Lee